Content Menu
Kurdistan Regional Government

Kurdistan Regional Government

The Kurdistan Regional Government of Iraq (KRG) is a democratically elected administrative body of the federal Kurdistan Region of Iraq. It consists of two branches: the legislative branch, represented by the Kurdistan Parliament, and the executive branch, made up of the President, Prime Minister and other ministers of his cabinet.  Based in Erbil, it administers the three governorates of Erbil, Duhok and Sulaimani.

The parliament is elected through popular vote every four years. The party holding the majority of seats in the Kurdistan Parliament nominates a candidate for the post of KRG Prime Minister. The nomination is then submitted to the President of the Kurdistan Region for approval. Following confirmation by the President, the Prime Minister will be tasked with forming a new cabinet. The Prime Minister presents the Kurdistan Parliament with his selection and the parliament will, in turn, vote their approval.

The Kurdistan Regional Government of Iraq was founded on the principles of liberty, democracy, and human rights. Since its establishment in 1992, the KRG has dedicated itself to acting in the best interests of all the people in the Kurdistan Region, safeguarding its ethnic and religious diversity as well as its minority population, and ensuring safety and security for all.

The KRG permanently aims at strengthening its services and the quality of democracy in the Region. It continuously works to increase transparency, disperse competences, and empower civil society. The KRG is also concerned with promoting international recognition of the Anfal genocide campaign by the Baath Regime, intended at annihilating the Kurdish population.

After the fall of the former regime, the Kurdistan Regional Government worked hard with the interim government of Iraq to create a new federal, pluralistic and democratic Iraq. Accordingly, the KRG closely cooperates with the federal Iraqi government to ensure the application of the Iraqi Constitution.

The current regional government is headed by Prime Minister Nechirvan Barzani. He presides over a cabinet of 19 Ministers that is primarily made up of members of the winning Kurdistani List coalition. The Region’s other institutions include the independent Judicial Council, the highest judicial authority in the Region, as well as the Presidency of the Kurdistan Region and its administration, the Diwan.

The eighth cabinet

The eighth cabinet of the Kurdistan Regional Government was sworn into office on 18 June 2014 at the Kurdistan Parliament.
The cabinet consists of the following ministries and departments:

Prime Minister: Nechirvan Idris Barzani (Democratic Party Kurdistan)
Deputy Prime Minister: Qubad Jalal Talabani (Patriotic Union Kurdistan)

Ministry of:

  • Agriculture and Water Resources: Abdulstar Majeed (Komal)
  • Culture and Youth: Khalid Doski (Patriotic Union Kurdistan)
  • Education: Pishtiwan Sadiq (Democratic Party Kurdistan)
  • Electricity: Salahaddin Babakir (Islamic Union Kurdistan)
  • Endowment & Religious Affairs: Kamal Muslim (Gorran)
  • Finance & the Economy: Rebaz Mohammad (Gorran)
  • Health: Rekawt Hama Rasheed (Patriotic Union Kurdistan)
  • Higher Education & Scientific Research: Yousif Mohammad (Patriotic Union Kurdistan)
  • Housing and Reconstruction: Darbaz Kosrat Rasul (Patriotic Union Kurdistan)
  • Justice: Sinan Abdulkhaliq Chalabi (Democratic Party Kurdistan)
  • Interior: Abdulkarim Sultan Sinjari (Karim Sinjari) (Democratic Party Kurdistan)
  • Labour and Social Affairs: Mohammad Qadir (Gorran)
  • Martyrs and Anfal Affairs: Mahmoud Haji Salih (Patriotic Union Kurdistan)
  • Municipalities and Tourism: Newroz Mawlood Amin (Democratic Party Kurdistan)
  • Natural Resources: Abdullah Abdulrahman Abdullah (Ashti Hawrami) (Democratic Party Kurdistan)
  • Peshmerga Affairs: Mustafa Sayid Qadir (Gorran)
  • Planning: Ali Sindi (Democratic Party Kurdistan)
  • Trade and Industry: Samal Sardar
  • Transport and Communications: Jonson Siyawash
  • State –Secretariat for Parliamentary Relations: Maqloud Murad (Islamic Union Kurdistan)
  • State –Secretariat for environment: Abdulrahman Abdulrahim (Komal)

Further posts with ministerial rank: 

Chief of Staff, Kurdistan Region Presidency: Fuad Hussein
President, Divan of the Council of Ministers: Nechirvan Ahmed
Secretary of the Council of Ministers: Mohammad Qaradaghi
Department of Media & Information / Govt Spokesperson: Safeen Muhsin Dizayee
Department of Foreign Relations: Falah Mustafa Bakir