Content Menu

Die Region

The Kurdistan Region of Iraq is located in the northern part of the country and is bordered by Turkey in the North, Iran in the East and Syria in the West. Historically known as the “bread basket” of its surrounding areas, the Kurdistan Region offers a rich geographic diversity. Visitors today can immerse themselves in thriving cities such as the capital Erbil, explore the Region´s rich cultural heritage or enjoy the picturesque mountain landscapes covered in lush greens. Religious and cultural aspects are equally diverse and form an integral part of the Kurdish society. We invite you to discover more about the Kurdistan Region.

Dilshad Said: Peshmerga

Dilshad Said, Kurdish-Austrian composer, with his Symphony "Peshmerga", played by the Czech National Symphony Orchestra.
Read more »
Newroz, the Kurdish New Year

Newroz, the Kurdish New Year

The Kurdish holiday of Newroz is celebrated on the eve of the 20th of March, marking both the Kurdish New Year and the beginning of spring. Read more on this ceremonial event.
Read more »
The Kurdistan Region of Iraq

The Kurdistan Region of Iraq

The Kurdistan Region of Iraq is bordered by Turkey in the North, Iran in the East, and Syria in the West. It is divided into three governorates, with Erbil being the capital of the Region. Here you can find out more about geography, economy, and society.
Read more »
Practical Information

Practical Information

Travelling to/in the Region of Kurdistan-Iraq The fastest and easiest way to reach the Kurdistan Region from Europe is by plane. There are two airports, Erbil International Airport and Sulaimani International Airport. Austrian Airlines offers a direct flight from Vienna to Erbil several times a week, with an approximate three and a half hour duration.
Read more »

Flag and Anthem

The official flag of the Kurdistan Region of Iraq consists of three horizontal stripes in the colours red, white and green. The anthem Ey Reqîb, created by the Kurdish poet Yonis Reuf, is the official anthem of the Kurdistan Region.
Read more »
dram filmleri

Zum Inhalt Zum Menü

Die Region

Die Region Kurdistan-Irak befindet sich im nördlichen Teil des Irak und grenzt an die Türkei im Norden, den Iran im Osten und Syrien im Westen. Einst bekannt als „Brotkorb“ der umliegenden Gebiete, bietet die Region Kurdistan-Irak ein facettenreiches Landschaftsbild. Besucher können die vielfältigen Angebote der lebendigen Städte nutzen oder Entspannung in den malerisch grünen Berglandschaften finden. Ebenso interessant sind die religiösen und kulturellen Aspekte des kurdischen Alltags. Gerne laden wir Sie dazu ein, mehr über die Region Kurdistan herauszufinden.

Dilshad Said: Peshmerga

Dilshad Said, kurdisch-österreichischer Komponist, mit seiner Symphonie "Peshmerga", gespielt vom Tschechischen Nationalen Symphonieorchester.
Weiterlesen »
Newroz, das kurdische Neujahrsfest

Newroz, das kurdische Neujahrsfest

Das kurdische Newroz-Fest wird am Vorabend des 21. März gefeiert und läutet sowohl das kurdische Neujahr als auch den Frühlingsbeginn ein. Lesen Sie mehr zum feierlichen Ereignis.
Weiterlesen »
Die Region Kurdistan-Irak

Die Region Kurdistan-Irak

Die Region Kurdistan-Irak grenzt im Norden an die Türkei, im Osten an den Iran und im Westen an Syrien. Sie ist in drei Provinzen unterteilt; die Hauptstadt der Region ist Erbil. Lesen Sie hier mehr zu Geographie, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft.
Weiterlesen »
Praktische Informationen

Praktische Informationen

Reisen in die Region Kurdistan-Irak Die wohl einfachste und schnellste Möglichkeit, die Region Kurdistan-Irak aus Europa zu erreichen, ist über den Luftweg. Die Region verfügt über zwei Flughäfen, einen größeren in Erbil und einen in Sulaimani. Austrian Airlines fliegt mehrmals wöchentlich direkt von Wien nach Erbil.
Weiterlesen »

Flagge und Hymne

Die offizielle Flagge der Autonomen Region Kurdistan-Irak besteht aus drei horizontalen Streifen in den Farben Rot, Weiß und Grün. Die vom kurdischen Dichter Yonis Reuf kreierte Hymne Ey Reqîb ist die offizielle Hymne der Region.
Weiterlesen »
dram filmleri